Books that I loved from childhood

My intense love of reading started when I was very young. Much like the television and movies I was permitted to watch (they did fast forward through sex scenes, so there’s that), after a certain age my reading content was probably questionable. I’ve always loved a thriller. Stephen King remains one of my favorite authors to this day. My love of books is varied and all over the place just like my taste in music, 40’s jazz and rap anyone? As I sat here thinking of what needed to be put on my writing to do list, my mind wandered to all the books I loved as a child. So here’s a list (nowhere near inclusive) of some of the books that I have loved and why.

Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery

I loved Anne’s imagination and her spirit. I become obsessed with Prince Edward Island and put it on my dream list of places to visit as an adult. I loved the PBS movies just as much. I look forward to reading these with my daughter.

Pollyanna, by Eleanor H. Porter

Another orphan book! I’ll admit that I saw Pollyanna the movie starring Hayley Mills before reading the book (something I really dislike doing). But the book still remains one of my all time favorites. Pollyanna’s relentless ability to find the good in situations and her neverending optimism was foreign to me. I was fascinated by and honestly, envious.

Sammy the Seal, by Syd Hoff

This is a book that I loved dearly. I’m not sure if it was that Sammy didn’t fit in when he tried to go to school, or his search to try different things, or the fact that all together it didn’t make a lot of sense. I still have the copy from my childhood and it remains a cherished possession.

The Dark is Rising series, by Susan Cooper

The Dark is Rising books started my love of all things magical and mystic. The battle between Light and Evil? That’s good stuff. I ordered the entire series a couple of years ago so that I could re-read them with my kiddos.

The Baby-Sitters Club, by Ann M. Martin

I’m going to show my Type A side, I loved how organized these kids were. That and it was a much lighter read than some of the other things I enjoyed. It’s good to have a balance.

Go Out in Joy!, by Nina Herrmann Donnelley

This book made an imprint on my soul. I remember the day that I bought it. I was in the 3rd or 4th grade and we had stopped at a store while on vacation. I begged my mom to let me buy a book and she said fine to hurry. This is the book I grabbed. It’s the personal story of a television news reporter who leaves her job to go work as a student chaplain at a hospital. The book is about the very sick children she meets, it’s a heavy read. But even as a child (reading a book that was meant for adults) I felt the magnitude of what this woman was doing. That has to be one of the hardest, most emotionally draining jobs in the world. But imagine the invaluable service she provided those children and families. I still love this story and book.

The Secret Garden, by Frances Hodgson Burnett

I’ll end my list with yet another orphan book. Although the story is sad and unfortunate, there is the underlying theme of positivity and what it can do for you. I think when you are in a negative environment for so long, you run the risk of brushing off the thought of positive thinking, it’s silly. But for me, these books planted a seed. I’m still watering it and hoping it grows taller and stronger, all these years later, but it’s there all the same.

 

Leave a Reply

