MIA & Things we’ve enjoyed around Atlanta

It’s been over a week since my last blog and I have no real excuse for not having blogged since. I’ve been taking the kids to do things. I had a hair appointment with my new hair lady (which stirred up feelings of missing my friend and TN hair lady). Thankfully, I love the new hair lady. But I still miss my friend.

Then the world continued to make my head and heart hurt and so I’ve just not been able to formulate anything intelligible.

We had a pretty awesome July 4th BBQ with old friends and new friends. The kids had a great time and made new friends. That makes my heart happy.

I’ve been taking classes at our local YMCA, trying to get myself where I am more comfortable. The Tabata class is no joke.

So far, I’ve taken the kids (sometimes just one of them) to a few different things around Atlanta. Since I can’t seem to come up with a blog idea that involves anything of substance, here’s a list of places we’ve been around Atlanta and what I thought of them.

Six Flags over Georgia: The boy and the hubs have season passes. We went on Father’s Day when the sweets and I could get in free. It was super hot the day we went. We splurged on the refillable mug that you can bring back and refill for free for the season. We filled that thing up no less than 7 times. We all four took turns guzzling Powerade and Sprite. The sweets really enjoyed the DC kids area and the Bugs Bunny rides. The Monster Mansion is pretty much the same as it was when I was a kid. All in all, we had a great day. I was going to get a season pass for the sweets and I but apparently they only give you the discount during sales if you buy 4 or more passes. So, we’ve not bought a pass at this point.

Zoo Atlanta: It was HOT the day we went. My kids were cranky. They seemed unimpressed. I, however, enjoyed it and wished I had gone alone so there would have been less whining. I like that the zoo is spaced out well. There are animals there that they didn’t have at our beloved Nashville Zoo. I’d like to go back but maybe I’ll go alone.

Center for Puppetry Arts: Did you know it’s the largest organization dedicated to puppetry in the U.S.? I have such fond memories of going there as a child. It’s been renovated and even though my sweets ran through it, I really enjoyed it. I didn’t get to read much as we passed through the exhibits. That’s one reason why my attendance to the Labyrinth exhibit (opening September 2nd) will be adults only. The puppet show that we saw was unbelievably good. Amazing, actually. Really enjoyed it and so did she. I’m contemplating buying a membership for the two of us (the boys have made it clear they don’t want to go to puppet shows). Between now and May 2017 there are something like 12 puppet shows, and almost every one of them my sweets and I would like to see.

Fernbank Museum of Natural History: Again, another childhood favorite of mine. We went just this week to meet up with some friends who now live in Florida with their two kids. My kids loved the Nature Quest area on the top floor. I ended up using our ticket credit to go toward a membership since I had a $20 off coupon from Local Flavor. If we had gone just one more time it would have paid for the membership so it seemed like a no-brainer. Plus we’ll get a discount on IMAX movies. We have a lot of Tennessee friends who might visit and this would be the perfect place to go with all the kiddos. Even in the morning weekday hours the drive took me just over an hour. Not bad.

There are some other things we have on the agenda for later this month before school starts.

White Water: I think it’s called Six Flags White Water now. I don’t know. Growing up, it was White Water. It’s a huge water park. The hubs and boy both have season passes to Six Flags so we’re going to take advantage of a bring a friend day this month and take the kids to White Water. They both love swimming and last year I took them to a water park in Alabama and they loved it.

Bodies, The Exhibition: Okay, so this one is just me and the boy. Every summer, since he started school, we’ve had a day when just the two of us go and do something. It’s always a museum because no one else wants to stop and read everything. I heard about this from my new hair lady (just in case you’re wondering that is the correct term instead of sytlist or whatevs). I checked it out and was thoroughly creeped out. It said there were kid programs and I showed him the pictures. His exact words were, “Eww. Gross. That’s so creepy. I want to go.” So I bought discount Groupon tickets and we’re going in the next couple of weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

