Whole30: Week One. My body is eating itself.

I’m going to be super honest about how this is all going down. I always appreciate when I’m going to try something new and I can find info out on the interwebs from people who have gone through it. I’m going to preface my weekly posts by saying that there are a few things I’m not following religiously. The first is that if something is cooked in peanut oil (a no-no) at a restaurant, I’m just going to pretend I didn’t know. I’m also not going to start over if that happens. I’m a grown person. This is hard. I feel like I’m starving to death. Whatevs. I’ve also been weighing myself everyday due to the fact that I’m certain I’m slowly starving to death. You’re not supposed to do that. There goes my gold star. Okay here it goes. My daily eating habits and then also how I felt each day.

eatwhole30-instagram
This is from the Whole30 instagram page. I recommend following them since they often post recipes. 

Day 1:

-Coffee with unsweetened almond milk (It’s so gross you guys. I swear I’m drinking watery vomit.)

-Scrambled eggs

-Strawberries and kiwi

-Bag of mixed nuts and raisins for snack

-Grilled Chick-fil-a nuggets (they put SUGAR in the freaking nuggets. SUGAR!? Why?)

-Roasted chicken thigh, roasted okra and roasted squash.

Thoughts/Feelings: I felt okay. I was tired by the end of the day but we had climbed Stone Mountain with the kids.

Day 2:

-Coffee with unsweetened almond milk (Still gross)

-2 mini egg frittatas  (Not bad. Not bad)

-Banana

-Salad with balsamic vinegarette dressing (Maple Grove brand)

Dole whip (Not bad. I was struggling and it helped.)

-Pistachios

-Winter Potato, Kale and Sausage Frittata (SkinnyTaste recipe. It was REALLY good. I omitted the cheese to make it Whole30 compliant. Big kid even ate it)

-Pistachios

Thoughts/Feelings: I felt TERRIBLE. I did nothing all day. I thought I might be getting the flu. I felt like I had been hit by a bus. I was so tired I actually took a nap. I never do that.

Day 3:

-Coffee with unsweetened almond milk (You know my thoughts. Still gross)

-Banana

-2 1/2 muffin fritattas (Over these. The texture of reheated eggs is not something I’m liking)

-Shredded chicken with avocado oil mayo (This saved me. So light but tasted good. You can’t have regular mayo and I read about this stuff on another blog so I ordered some from Amazon. The Publix stores here carry it so it’s worth a look if you don’t want to wait.)

-Mason jar salad

-Strawberries and kiwi

-Apple

-Roasted Chicken thighs and roasted squash (leftovers)

Buffalo chicken dip with celery (Another time that a recipe discovery saved me. I love this recipe. I used the avocado mayo and it was great.

Thoughts/Feelings: Down 3 lbs by Day 3. Very hungry. Very cranky. Hate everyone and everything.

Day 4:

Mocha (Less nasty than the plain coffee. Still not great.)

-2 boiled eggs

-Mild Italian sausage

-Buffalo chicken dip with celery

-Strawberries and kiwi

-2 servings of Winter Potato, Kale and Sausage fritatta leftovers (Told you I was starving)

-Green grapes

-Pistachios

Thoughts/Feelings: Sluggish. Later in the day I felt slightly more alert. I know people are thinking if you feel like you are starving eat more. Tried that. I got super full and felt like I might have gone too far and then 30 minutes later I was starving again. It’s like I’m breastfeeding again but without the nipple irritation.

Day 5:

-Mocha (Less milk this time. Still not loving it but it was better. Going to add some cinnamon tomorrow to see what that does)

-2 Sweet Potato Banana muffins (These are okay. They would be good with a little sugar. I used a lot of cinnamon but they are still somewhat bland.)

-Chicken mixed with Primal Kitchen mayo

-Strawberries

-Carrot sticks and Paleo Ranch (The ranch isn’t bad.)

-Mixed nuts

-3 boiled eggs

-Buffalo Chicken dip with celery

-Green Goddess Bolthouse smoothie **I’ll tell you more about this on Day 8.

Thoughts/Feelings: I didn’t write anything down so I must have just been surviving.

Day 6:

-Mocha (added cinnamon, slightly better)

-2 sweet potato banana muffins

-Larabar

-smoked half chicken with crinkle fries.

-Mixed nut pack

-Taco Stand taco salad with only lettuce, beef and guacamole (very filling and actually had taste)

Thoughts/Feelings: Cranky. Hungry.

Day 7:

-Mocha

-Scrambled eggs with spinach, breakfast potatoes and bacon (at Last Resort Grill so I’m sure the bacon had stuff I wasn’t supposed to have because it was amazing).

-Cashews

-Banana

-Shrimp and homemade oven fries

-Buffalo chicken dip

-Cashews

-Raisins

Thoughts/Feelings: I made it a week. Only 23 more days.

There were a few days when I stuffed as many raisins down my throat as I could and obviously I’ve failed to record those. There is sugar in everything. That’s one of the big things I’ve noticed. I haven’t gone to bed nauseated or with stomach pain since the day before I started. That, for me, is enough reason to stick with this until the end and figure out what the heck is making me feel so crappy. I’m optimistic that I’ll be back on a healthy eating track after this but that I’ll let myself have the things that keep me from feeling ragey. Like sugar in my coffee.

Leave a Reply

