Whole3o Results and Takeaways

Earlier this week I finished the Whole30. Day 30 was election day. I decided not to blog my diet from the last 2-3 days of it because honestly I cheated basically everyday and rather than devote an entire blog to that I figured I’d just admit it and move on.

I know what most people who are actually reading this and following my Whole30 journey are wondering about are the results I’ve seen.  As far as my overall results with my body, I lost 11.5 inches total and 12.6 lbs. Not too shabby. I will say that for 3 of the 4 weeks I was working out 5 days a week. The first week I took off because I was so hungry.

Other results? I’m sleeping better (not quite as well since I’ve slipped here and there). My energy was way better. Mentally I felt very focused and motivated and the brain fog that I had attributed to being a mom was actually gone. My overall mood was much better.

So what were my main takeaways?

  1. The hide sugar in everything. I do mean everything. Bacon, sausage, pasta, ketchup. I now read labels every time I go to buy something if it’s something I haven’t bought before.
  2. Meal prep is the key to stay on track. Making a batch of chicken salad and roasting veggies on Sunday afternoon so that all I have to do is make a plate come lunch time really helped me to stay on track throughout the week. It also cut down on my wanting to snack because I had enough food to fill me up during lunch.
  3. I’m much more thirsty than I am hungry. I was drinking water when I started this but not nearly enough. Now that I consistently keep a full mug of water to drink throughout the day I’m less hungry between meals.
  4. My eating affects my sleep and how energetic I am throughout the day. The things I’ve noticed are that I’m sleeping through the night (most nights I don’t get up to pee anymore). I’m falling asleep much faster than ever before. When I get up I’m more awake and full of energy. This is something I noticed early on. Since I’ve had some cheating the last week and since I’ve been done I’ve noticed my sleep and energy are the first things to be affected.
  5. My stomach issues resolved themselves pretty much immediately upon starting the Whole30.

 

While I didn’t follow everything exactly, I feel like (until the end) I stayed pretty close to what I was supposed to. Most things that I really thought I would have a hard time giving up (cheese and soda), I don’t miss. I’m happy to have a sweet tea and a water when eating out. The sweet tea is my cheat that I’ll allow myself. I like how I feel. My clothes are much looser. I’m completing workouts easier. I was sick and tired of being sick and tired so for me continuing on this track as best I can is worth it for that reason.

img_3259
This is the view during my daily walks. One thing I really love about my new hood is all the trees and how pretty they are. 
Leave a Reply

